What is Title I?

Improving the Academic Achievement of the Disadvantaged

Title I is a federally funded program under the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) of 2001. The law, which was signed into effect on January 8, 2002, amends the Elementary and Secondary Act of 1965 (ESEA), and replaces the Improving America's Schools Act of 1994. The act contains four basic principles: stronger accountability for results, increased flexibility and local control, more choices for parents and students, and an emphasis on research-based instructional strategies.

The purpose of the Title I program is to help low-achieving students meet our state's challenging academic content and performance standards. Schools qualify for Title I funds based on economic need. The Title I program offers a variety of services for participating schools, which may include: additional teachers and support staff, extra time for instruction, a variety of teaching methods and materials, smaller classes and additional training for staff. For the 2011 -2012 school year, four of Wilcox County's elementary schools and one middle school, and high school will receive Title I services.

E.S.E.A. Title I strives to provide a program that allows each student to achieve his/her fullest potential. In order for achievement to occur, teachers must ensure that students have positive self-concepts and a sense of self-worth.

The Title I program is to ensure that all children have a fair, equal, and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education, and reach, at minimum, proficiency on state academic achievement standards and state academic assessments.

  • Schoolwide Programs
  • Parenting Program
  • Parents Right-To-Know
  • Public School Choice/No Child Left Behind
  • Supplemental Educational Services